NEW Commission Chair for the Higher ED Commission

Brian MatthewsDr. Brian L. Matthews is a tenure-track Assistant Professor of Management and Department Chair in the College of Business, Engineering, & Technology (CBET) at Texas A&M University-Texarkana. After graduating from Ashdown High School in 1997, he attended Harding University in Searcy, Arkansas where he graduated cum laude with a Bachelor of Business Administration in Marketing in 2001. As a freshman, was inducted into the national honor society, Phi Eta Sigma. In 2002, he graduated summa cum laude with a Master of Business Administration in Management from Harding University and was inducted into Phi Beta Lambda-Future Business Leaders of America and Delta Mu Delta Honor Society. In 2012, Dr. Matthews successfully defended his dissertation and received a Doctor of Business Administration in Marketing from Argosy University, graduating magna cum laude with a 4.0 GPA. For his academic accomplishments, he was inducted into the National Society of Collegiate Scholars (NSCS).

Dr. Matthews, a former city councilmember for Ward 4 from 2012-2017, now serves as a board member for Literacy Council of Miller and Bowie Counties, Leadership Texarkana, Main Street Texarkana, Red River Air Cargo Association, Northeast Texas Alliance for Black School Educators (NETABSE), a member of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP), National Society of Experiential Education (NSEE) Diversity and Equity Scholarship Committee, the Faith-Based Community Support Commission for Texas Alliance for Black School Educators (TABSE), Wilbur Smith Rotary, and is a graduate of the 2020-2021 Leadership Texarkana class. At A&M-Texarkana, he serves as an Academic Affair Faculty Fellow, Chair of the CBET Curriculum Committee and Policy Committee, Chair of the Open Educational Resource (OER) Committee, Chair of the Tenure and Promotion Standardization Committee, an Experiential Learning (EL) Cadre, member of the University Budget and Strategic Planning Committee, Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion (DE&I) Committee, and Scheduling Task Force Committee. Dr. Matthews also serves as the Faculty Senate Secretary, Program Manager for CROWNed Jewels Scholarship Program, management faculty advisor, and co-faculty advisor for the Eagle Business Club.

In 2017, Dr. Matthews was nominated for a Wilbur Smith Award by Leadership Texarkana. He was also nominated for the Excellence in Teaching Award for non-tenured track in 2017 and for tenured track in 2018 at Texas A&M University-Texarkana, later being awarded the Excellence in Teaching Award for Mentorship in 2019. Dr. Matthews has been awarded the Excellence in Teaching Award by National Society of Leadership and Success at Texas A&M University-Texarkana, Outstanding Achievement in Community Service by Facing the Giants, Distinguished Gentleman’s Award by Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Incorporated, the Dr. G. W. Thompson Professional Award by the Greater Texarkana Branch of the NAACP, the Shining Star Award by Texarkana Independent School District, Senior Marketing Award by Harding University’s College of Business Administration, and awarded to the Dean’s list while a student at Harding University. He has published numerous research articles in national and international peer-reviewed journals and contributes to the Texarkana Gazette as a guest business columnist. Dr. Matthews is an associate minister at Greater St. John Missionary Baptist Church where he also serves as a Sunday School teacher and President of Kingdom Builders Men’s Ministry.

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top