NEW Commission Chair for the Higher ED Commission

Dr. Brian L. Matthews is a tenure-track Assistant Professor of Management and Department Chair in the College of Business, Engineering, & Technology (CBET) at Texas A&M University-Texarkana. After graduating from Ashdown High School in 1997, he attended Harding University in Searcy, Arkansas where he graduated cum laude with a Bachelor of Business Administration in Marketing

association member benefits

TABSE Featured Partner of the Month: Association Member Benefits (AMBA)

Association Member Benefits Advisors (AMBA) is a nationwide full-service agency focused on plan design, negotiations, and implementation of benefits for Associations that represent Active and Retired Teachers, School Employees, State Employees, Firefighters, Nurses, and more. They are a turnkey benefit provider with exclusive negotiated insurance benefits programs and discounts on travel, electronics, dining, and more!

Fort Bend ISD

TABSE District Institutional Member of the Month: Fort Bend ISD

Nestled west of Houston, Ft. Bend ISD serves as the eighth largest district in the state of Texas with more than 77,000 students, boasting one of the most diverse student and instructor populations in the nation. Led by newly appointed Superintendent Dr. Christie Whitbeck, FBISD currently has 81 campuses: 11 high schools, 15 middle schools,

Garland ISD - TABSE Partner

TABSE District Institutional Member of the Month: Garland ISD

Garland ISD, led by Superintendent Ricardo Lopez, services over 55,000 students located in the Dallas -Fort Worth area. Garland ISD ranks as the second-largest district in Dallas County, fifth-largest in Dallas-Fort Worth, 15th-largest in Texas, and is among the 75-largest in America. In April, Garland ISD was chosen to be one of six districts chosen

Chartwells - TABSE Partner

TABSE Featured Partner of the Month: ChartwellsK12

Chartwells K12 provides dining programs for school districts across the country and prides itself on extending its dedication, knowledge, and enthusiasm into building custom programs that deliver each student delicious, great tasting meals. With more than 16,000 associates in 4,100 schools, ranging from large public institutions to small charter and private schools, Chartwells K12 is

2021 TABSE Dr. Thomas Randle Demonstration District Spotlight Award Recipients

In 2016, TABSE President Dr. Michael McFarland and TABSE Demonstration District Chairperson Dr. Chris Pichon collaborated to establish the award. Dr. Thomas Randle, Superintendent of Lamar Consolidated ISD and TABSE Founder was the 1st recipient of the Demonstration District Spotlight Award, and the award was named after him thereafter. Lamar Consolidated ISD & Superintendent Dr.

Campus Based Leadership Commission

The Campus Based Leadership Commission provides a forum for information exchange and collaboration among current and aspiring campus leadership of public educational systems. Sub-committees within the Campus Based Leadership Commission have been established to strengthen the alignment between local affiliates and TABSE Commissions, engage TABSE Commissions in cross-functional work and offer ongoing professional learning opportunities

Renowned State Educator Conference Comes to Houston

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Educators looking to grow, network, advance professionally, stay informed of legislative initiatives impacting education policy and current 21st Century best educational practices are encouraged to attend the premier educational summit known as the Texas Alliance of Black School Educators (TABSE) State Conference.

Historical Black College Tour Registration

One of the best learning tools for today’s student is travel, especially visiting college/universities. The Historical Black College Tour is designed to expose students to some of the best of these institutions that have contributed greatly to the growth of African American life in this country.

Dr. Latonya Goffney

Dr. LaTonya Goffney Named 2017 TASB Superintendent of the Year

TASB has named LaTonya Goffney, superintendent of Lufkin ISD, the 2017 Superintendent of the Year. Her win was announced October 7 at the TASA/TASB Convention in Dallas.

Goffney was selected from a group of state finalists that included Robert Jaklich, Victoria ISD, Region 3; Judd Marshall, Mount Pleasant ISD, Region 8; Thomas Randle, Lamar CISD, Region 4; and Jim Vaszauskas, Mansfield ISD, Region 11.

Scroll to Top